Site icon Self Discovery Media Community

P14/48b “A Cry From The Dust”, The Mountain Meadows Massacre

Originally Aired from December 1st on Positive Living Vibrations with Sara Troy and her guest Carrie Stuart Parks

She has a pencil … and she’s not afraid to use it!

Can a forensic artist reconstruct two centuries of suppressed history . . . before it repeats itself?
In A Cry from the Dust, Carrie Stuart Parks utilizes her own background as a celebrated, FBI-trained forensic artist to blend fact and fiction into a stunning mystery.

Carrie Stuart Parks is an award-winning fine artist and internationally known forensic artist. She teaches forensic art courses to law enforcement professionals and is the author/illustrator of numerous books on drawing. Carrie began to write fiction while battling breast cancer and was mentored by New York Times best-selling author Frank Peretti. Now in remission, she continues to encourage other women struggling with cancer.

In the shadow of the Mormon church, a 19th-century conspiracy is about to be shattered by a 21st-century forensic artist.
In 1857, a wagon train in Utah was assaulted by a group of militant Mormons calling themselves the Avenging Angels. One hundred and forty people were murdered, including unarmed men, women, and children. The Mountain Meadows Massacre remains controversial to this day–but the truth may be written on the skulls of the victims.
When renowned forensic artist Gwen Marcey is recruited to reconstruct the faces of recently unearthed victims at Mountain Meadows, she isn’t expecting more than an interesting gig . . . and a break from her own hectic life.
But when Gwen stumbles on the ritualized murder of a young college student, her work on the massacre takes on a terrifying new aspect, and research quickly becomes a race against modern-day fundamentalist terror.
As evidence of a cover-up mounts–a cover-up spanning the entire history of the Mormon church–Gwen finds herself in the crosshairs of a secret society bent on fulfilling prophecy and revenging old wrongs.


TUNE IN HERE FOR INSTANT LISTENING NOW

  Soundcloud   ITunes   iHEART   Anchor
  Spotify,    Google play,    Stitcher,    Mixcloud
  Radio Public.   Breaker,    Helium   Overcastfm
 Launchpad   Youtube    Osysee  Podchaser

“Renowned forensic and fine artist Parks’ action-packed and compelling tale of suspense is haunting in its intensity. Well researched and written in an almost journalistic style, this emotionally charged story is recommended for fans of Ted Dekker, Mary Higgins Clark, and historical suspense.”
-Book Verdict Starred Review and the inspirational debut of the month.

“Parks, in her debut novel, has clearly done her research and never disappoints to when it comes to crisp dialogue, characterization, or surprising twists and turns.”  -Publishers Weekly 

“Parks’ fast-paced and suspenseful debut novel is an entertaining addition to the inspirational genre. Her writing is polished. and the research behind the novel brings credibility to the story. An excellent book that’s sure to put Carrie Stuart Parks on readers’ radar.” –4 star RT Book Review

“What impresses most about this first novel is the research into Mormon history and the authoritative familiarity with the workings of forensic art. These and the swift pace, the strong characterizations, the rich detail of setting, and historical possibility all make for a page-turner that Latter-day Saints will ponder for days.” -Association for Mormon Letters

I LOVED THIS BOOK, I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN, SHE TAKES YOU ON A JOURNEY OF TWISTS AND TURNS AND YOU CAN SEE HER EXPERTISE IN YOUR WORK SHINNING THROUGH HER WRITINGS, A TOTAL RECOMMENDATION, YOU WILL LOVE IT.  Sara Troy Self Discovery  Podcast producer.

http://www.carriestuartparks.com

http://www.amazon.com/Cry-Dust-Carrie-Stuart-Parks 

 FOR INFO ON ART CLASSES

https://www.stuartparks.com

.facebook.com/carriestuartparks

Another show with us and Cathie Devitt

GO HERE

More on your host Sara Troy and her shows  choose-positive-living

FIND MORE SHOWS OF ILLUMINATION HERE

MORE ON SARA HERE

All of our shows/interviews are done by donation, if you enjoyed this show please support us here.

Exit mobile version